Friday, 29 July 2011

Who are the EO6?

Prema Devaraj, the sister of Dr Jeyakumar spoke about the condition of the EO detainees and described harsh situation that they had to endure in detention.

Jeyakumar Devaraj, PSM deputy chairperson M Sarasvathy, central committee members Choo Chon Kai and M Sukumaran, Youth chief R Saratbabu and Sungai Siput branch secretary A Letchumanan were initially arrested along with 24 others in Sungai Dua, Penang, on June 26 over allegations of 'waging war against the Agong'.

However, after their remand order expired on July 2, the PSM 6 were re-arrested under the EO and accused of attempting to "revive communism".

The authorities later said their detention under the EO was on the ground of their involvement with the Bersih 2.0 coalition for clean and fair elections, which the government has deemed an "illegal organisation".

Video by Jimmy Leow

No comments:

Post a Comment